Cher’s Top Reads

Cher’s Top Reads

Hello!

Fancy seeing you here! 🙂

I hope you had a fantastic week and if not, maybe grab a new book to read?

As you can tell this week’s blog post is all about books. Lately, I had drastically reduced my reading volume. Reading is something that I love to do but I do find that sometimes I stop reading for spans of time.

I tend to get lost in all the social media and other fast-paced mediums of entertainment. Pokemon Go and YouTube videos are not helping either XD. I like to convince myself that binge-watching YouTube vlogs for hours is research for my blog…I don’t think so Cher.

But truthfully, there is nothing quite like a set of words scrawled over a piece of paper (or a kindle) to set a certain mood and tone to transfer you to some place far , far away (without the cost of travel for airplanes , trains etc).

I was once asked to define travelling in my own terms. My answer was  ‘Going to a whole other place, be it by means of transport or good literature’.

So now I am focusing on getting my reading Mojo back on by reading the ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ series, and that ought to keep me occupied for a while. I promised myself that I would at least award myself with one hour of reading a day where I can just zone out . No internet access, no breaks and a timer to help me not get carried away and miss out on other important things like…well work?

So if you ever find that you presently do not have enough money to travel (check out how to save money on my Saving Money post) go to Winterfell for an hour or to the Sally Pier. And if you find you are out of good books to read below is a list and a little insight into the books I read and loved last Summer.

‘The Five People You Meet in Heaven’ by Mitch Albom

“All endings are also beginnings, we just don’t know it at the time”

-Mitch Albom

This book was published in 2003 and has already established itself as an inspirational book . The story of Eddie takes place at Sally Pier and later heaven , as implied by the title. Eddie had not found his significance in life, until he loses it. The story is very eye-opening , slightly ironic in my opinion, however, I found the book to be very enlightening. It gets you thinking about how every small thing you do can have an impact on others peoples’ lives , thus giving significance to yours.

I would rate this book an 8/10-its an easy read with a compelling message. Perfect to read when commuting.

‘Fates and Furies’ -Lauren Groff

“Even then, she knew that there is no such thing as sure. There is no absolute anything. The gods love to fuck with us.”
― Lauren Groff

This is one of my favourites. It is a bit of a heavier read when compared to Mitch Albom but it is well worth it. The story follows the love story of a couple throughout their lives. Firstly, in the  Fates section the story takes on Lotto’s point of view and then goes on to Mathilde’s in Furies. This book keeps you on edge and gives a real insight as to what goes through a couple’s mind. You come to realise that most situations are perceived differently and might even contrast from one person’s point of view to another.The story is gripping, to say the least, and I was very impressed with Groff’s vast vocabulary. I found myself keeping a pen and a paper close every time I read this book in the hopes of adding some of the words to my vocabulary, here is where the kindle came in handy. All I had to do was double tap on a word and I was given the meaning instantly. This book was recommended by the ‘Between Two Books’ book club run by Florence Welch from Florence and the Machine Band (who I went to watch perform back in April this year-read all about that here). It was also President Obama’s choice as book of the year -you know it’s a good one when the President recommends it!

I would rate this book as a 9/10-heavier read, great for commuting just don’t miss your stop because your entranced in the story like I did!

Side tip: buy the physical book version of this one and not on the kindle, I still wish I had, the cover is gorgeous!

A Clockwork Orange-Anthony Burgess

“Goodness is something chosen. When a man cannot choose he ceases to be a man.”

-Anthony Burgess

This book is on another level of intense. Literature that embraces the mind and is remarkably unforgettable. As you can probably tell , this is my favourite book I have read as an adult so far. I am a huge fan of the Dystopian Fiction genre (thanks English teacher for introducing me through a Handmaid’s Tale) so this review may be slightly biased. I was inspired to read this book when Lana del Rey came out with her album ‘Ultraviolence'( the term ultraviolence is derived from this book). Anthony Burgess follows Alex around as he gets into trouble with his group of friends. Set in future England, the violent vocabulary allows you to feel the hardships and savagery portrayed. It is also a very good book to film adaptation as Kubrick makes it come to life on-screen.

I will rate this as a 10/10, movie included. I would suggest some quite time and focus to read this one.

‘The King’s Curse’ – Philippa Gregory

“She’s like an anchor that he has forgotten, but still it keeps him steady.”

-Philippa Gregory

If you are looking into going back in time I would definitely suggest a historical novel by Philippa Gregory. The King’s Curse is part of the ‘Cousin’s War’ series she has written. I have read a few books from this series(one being ‘The Kingmaker’s Daughter seen above), in no particular order. Every book takes on a different narrator and so there is no particular consistency except for the timeline with regards to the years within which the events take place. The King’s Curse was my favourite because it is narrated by Margaret Pole but features highly Henry the 8th. I have always found King Henry to be very intriguing as a historical character. I always wonder why he had to have so many wives in his lifetime 🙂 Plus, watching the Tudors the summer before rekindled my curiosity. The books are on the thick side but I promise, you will be rushing through the pages just to know how the endings go. One of the many plus points is that you always get a little bit of History information too.

I would rate this book an 8/10- great to read by the beach or curled up on your sofa in the winter.

The Miniaturist-Jessie Burton

“Every woman is the architect of her own fortune.”

-Jessie Burton

This is the debut novel by Jessie Burton, great start Jessie if I do say so myself. I must admit, I only purchased this book because I was fascinated by the cover. I had not heard about it or was encouraged to read it by anyone. It is a sinister novel about a dollhouse belonging to Petronella Oortman.  The real dollhouse can be found in the ‘Rijksmuseum’ in Amsterdam, now I have to go and see it! The novel will surely engage you and instill a sense of something sinister going on at all times.

I would rate this book as a 7/10 , read it somewhere cosy , just so you can get that Old Amsterdam feeling.

So there you have it, my top five book suggestions. I shall continue to read until the end of time and keep you constantly updated through my instagram @cherrysanns.

I would love to know what everyone else is reading or suggest I read. Please continue to read and indulge in others people’s thoughts through literature. There is no greater friend then a book (or a dog perhaps?)

Cher shares xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

